Eurasian Economic Commission

The main purpose of the Eurasian Economic Commission is to provide conditions for functioning and development of the Customs Union and the Common Economic Space, development of proposals relative to further integration of countries in the Customs Union.

The members of the Eurasian Economic Commission are: Russian Federation, Kazakhstan and Belarus. EEC has the status of the supranational authority and is guided by the interests of the Eurasian Community as a whole, not interests of any particular national government. The decisions of the Commission are obligatory on the territory of the Customs Union and the Common Economic Space.

The decision to create the Eurasian Economic Commission is based on the conception that all three counties together will be able not only to decrease the aftermath of the global instability, but also take an active part on the foreign markets. The Customs Union and the Common Economic Space are open for collaboration with other countries, which share goals of this community and ready to undertake the required obligations.

The most important feature of the Commission is that all decisions are based on a collective basis. The Board of the Eurasian Economic Commission consists of 9 members (3 members of the Board (the Ministers) from each state-member), one of whom is the Chairman of the Board of the Commission.

The Chairman and the members of the Board are appointed for 4 years by the decision of the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council at the level of heads of states with an opportunity of power extension. The Board makes decisions by voting. Each member of the Board has one vote.

The work of EEC is divided into several functional courses, which are overseen by the Members of the Board (the Ministers). Each course is a unit which consists of industries and sectors of the economic activity. Members of the Board and EEC departments interact with designated national authorities according to their areas of activity.
At this moment there are 23 departments in the Eurasian Economic Commission. Under their authority were created 17 Advisory Commissions to develop proposals for the Board of EEC and for consultations with representatives of the national authorities. The Members of the Board (the Ministers) are the Chairmen of the Committees according to their areas of activity.

One of the main principles of EEC is maintaining of a comprehensive dialogue with the main partners. The first level of dialogue is state-to-state and provides the effective cooperation with the national authorities in the decision-making process. The second level of the dialogue is direct work with business community.
The Eurasian Economic Commission takes an active part on the international stage and represents the activity of the Commission in order to involve the key partners to the integration process in the European and Asian-Pacific regions.

The main activity areas of the Eurasian Economic Community are:

- levy and distribution of import duties;
- trade treatment with the third countries;
- foreign and mutual trade statistics;
- macroeconomic policy;
- competition policy;
- industrial and agriculture subsidies;
- energy policy;
- natural monopolies;
- state procurement;
- mutual service trade and mutual investments;
- transport and shipping;
- exchange rate policy;
- intellectual property protection and means of individualization of goods, works and services;
- labour migration;
- financial markets (banking sector, insurance, money market, stock market);
- other.

Latest news

10.09.2014 — For Turkey declination of the relationships between Russia and Europe may bring positive results. Read more
export food Russia
Will a ban on import of food products from the EU, USA and Canada help the Russian producers? Read more
light industrial goods
On the 1st of September 2014 in Russia begins to act a ban on the purchases of light industrial goods produced outside the territory of the Customs Union, as well as created from parts of foreign manufacture. Read more